The Bachelor Pad as Cultural Icon – Bill Osgerby

The Bachelor Pad as Cultural Icon – Bill Osgerby

I really enjoyed this text when I was writing my essay. What I found most interesting was the way male gender roles evolved with the second wave of feminism in the 1960’s. I thought that it was interesting that bachelor pads were considered so desirable when even twenty years before that it would have been almost unheard of for a man to make his own meals or do his own washing. I think the disengagement of men during the feminist movement in the 1960’s had a lot to do with it, as well as the rise in technology making it desirable to work to support yourself rather than a family and home.

 

Jake Thompson

Leave a Reply

